Rate analysis for Stone Masonry :

Readers,

When I was standing in a car park , waiting for someone to complete the shopping ,

I got a Whatsapp message from one of my students , asking me for the Rubble masonry rates. He said he wanted to submit the quotation on the same day. There was no use of just giving him a rate which I remember because it has to match with the material and labour rates and profit margin expected by this person.

So , I had to make a rate analysis for the Rubble masonry .

I asked him to message me the basic rates which he promptly did.

I next 15 minutes , I completed the rate analysis and send back the entire analysis to him .

Thought I shall also share the same calculations with you for your quick reference.

 

RANDOM RUBBLE MASONRY USED IN THE COMPOUND WALL . [ REAR PORTION ]
RANDOM RUBBLE MASONRY USED IN THE COMPOUND WALL .
[ REAR PORTION ]
Part A : The data :

Cement: 300/bag

Aggregate:  2400/brass

Rubble : 1500/brass

Labour  :2000/brass

Sand 5500/ brass

You already know that : I brass = 100 Cft

Desired  Profit 25%

 

Specifications :

Rubble masonry Width 18″

for wall compound ht 3′ from ground level

 in cement mortar in ratio : ( 1:6 )

 

Material for 1 cum:

Cement : 300*(0.45*1.52*28.8)/7= Rs.844

Sand:   5500*0.3529*6*(0.45*1.52)/7= Rs.1138

Rubble: 2400*0.3529*1.25 = Rs.1058

Labour : 2000*0.3529= Rs.706

 

Total:                        Rs.3756

Profit:Add@ 25%:     Rs.937

                   Total:  Rs.4693 Rs/cum.

Or             Rs.133 per Cft.

 

PCC 1:4:8

Material for 1 cum:

Cement : 300*(1.52*28.8)/13 = Rs.1010

Sand:   5500*0.3529*4*1.52/13 =Rs.908

Aggregate: 2400*0.3529*8*1.52/13  = Rs.792

 Sub total:                     Rs. 2710

For Labour Add 40%    Rs.1084

Total :                            Rs. 3794

Profits Add25%               Rs.949

Total :  Rs. 4743 per Cum

Rs.   134 per  Cft.

  

Note :

1.You shall observe that the rate for Rubble masonry in cement mortar in CM 1 :6 and the rate for plain cement concrete in proportion 1:4:8 are  almost equal

2. The material wastage is a point on which I need to elaborate.

As such when we consider the factor 1.52 in the material calculations by dry mix method, we are already considering 2 % material wastage . In case you want a higher allowance for wastage , you may take the factor as 1.57 so that material wastage is 7%.

19 thoughts on “Rate analysis for Stone Masonry :”

    1. Hello ,

      Thank you so much for your detailed perusal of the post.
      Now I have added a note no 02 which clarifies my view on the wastage factor.
      I have considered 2 & wastage in the cement, sand and aggregates .
      This is taken in the factor of 1.52 ( In calculations for material constant ).

      I am glad that you have taken time to seek my view on the wastage.
      Do keep writing .

      I am also sure that you would also like to follow this blog so that you get timely updates on the blog.

      Thank you once again ,

      Like

    1. Hello ,

      Thanks for this query.

      The quantities for sand and Aggregate as per the formula is in CuM.
      But on site ,in India, we buy the sand & aggregate in Brass [ 100 Cft ],
      therefore , it is necessary that these sand & Aggregate quantities are converted into Brass.

      Thus , I have included this factor of 0.3529 in the formula itself so that we directly get sand & Aggregate in Brass.

      Hope this is quite clear to you.

      1 CuM = 35.29 Cft.
      1 Brass = 100 Cft.

      Therefore , to express 1 CuM in brass ,
      we need to multiply CuM by 35.29/100 = 0.3529 .

      Like

  1. First of all thank you Kulkarni sir for this elaborate explanation, I just happen to read you post when i was searching for cost of per cubic feet of CRS wall for my residential house in Secunderabad. My builder had quoted me a price and i wanted to ascertain the actual cost in the market. If you have time and would not think otherwise can you please guide me on the price which has been given to me by builder, I am building a G+2 house with 3842 sft of construction. Regards Ashok

    Like

    1. This factor of 25 % means that when we have to build 1 Cum of rubble masonry , we need to take 1.25 Cum of loose rubble.
      So that it becomes 1 cum after building.
      Or you can say we have assumed 25 % voids in rubble.
      Hope this is understood now.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. This factor of 25 % means that when we have to build 1 Cum of rubble masonry , we need to take 1.25 Cum of loose rubble.
      So that it becomes 1 cum after building.
      Or you can say we have assumed 25 % voids in rubble.
      Hope this is understood now.

      Like

  2. Excuse me respected sir,

    sir isn’t the factor of dry volume for mortar 1.33 instead of 1.52. It’s just a doubt as I am just now reading quantity surveying in college.

    Like

Leave a Reply

